Banff Festival of the Arts 1978

Macdonald TAM TI DELAM

George JAZZ PAS DE TROIS

Allan SPRING

Manniegel MOONLIGHT SONATA

August 9, 10, 11 Eric Harvie Theatre

FESTIVAL BALLET

Co-Directors

Frank Bourman, Betty Farrally, Arnold Spohr

Set Designer

Laszlo Funtek

Lighting Designer

David J. Hignell

SONATA TO LAUREL

Music

Ludwig von Beethoven and Oscar Nedbal

Choreography

Heinz Manniegel

Decor

Laszlo Funtek

Pianist

Kerry Duse

As he listen to the Moonlight Sonata, a man recalls a time in his life, when he, through his restless search for innermost secrets, had to lose the most precious - his dreams.

Pas de Deux

Cheryl Gomes

Jacques Drapeau (Aug. 9, 11)

Mara Michelle McGlothin

Jean-Hughes Rochette

Natasha Hosein

(Aug. 10, 11 mat) Maja Olson

First Variation Second Variation Third Variation Male Variation

Sonia Lismer Michelle Haugen Elizabeth Peltz

Girls Variation

Jacques Drapeau (Aug. 9, 11) Cheryl Gomes Jean-Hughes Rochette (Aug. 10, 11 mat.) Mara Michelle McGlothin

Corps de Ballet

(Aug. 9, 11) April Chow Joanne Pettman (Aug. 10, 11 mat.) Ann Hilderbrand

Catherine Wagner Verina Hayes Cynthia Varney Karen Zissoff

INTERMISSION

A RARE MOOD

Music

Choreography Costume Design

Decor

Buddy Rich

Peter George

Peter George Laszlo Funtek

Jocelyn Labsan

Peter George

David Smith

SPRING

Music

Choreography

Decor

Antonio Vivaldi

Mauryne Allan

Laszlo Funtek

Allegro

Wendy Barnett Verina Hayes Joanne Kelly Thomas Stout III Cynthia Varney Michael Fritzke Ann Hilderbrand Andrew Rist Joseph Teague

Joseph Teagu Karen Zissoff

Largo

Joseph Teague Andrew Rist Michael Fritzke

Allegro

Full Cast

Miss Allan is winner of the first annual Clifford E. Lee Choreography Award.

INTERMISSION

TAM TI DELAM

Music Choreography Costumes** Orchestration

Gilles Vigneault Brian Macdonald Francois Laplante Ed Assely

Gilles Vigneault captures in his music the essence of Quebec - its land and rivers, children, games; its gaiety and originality.

First Movement	John Stanzel		
Cheryl Gomes Joanne Kelly Michelle Haugen Jocelyn Labsan Mara Michelle McGlothin	Jacques Drapeau Jean-Hughes Rochette Glen Curtis Michael Fritzke Joseph Teague	Noreen Buller Elizabeth Peltz Maja Olson Sonia Lismer Natasha Hosein	David Smith Dougal Clark Andrew Rist Neil Prokop Thomas Stout III
Second Movement	Cheryl Gomes Joseph Teague	Annette av Paul Andrew Rist	Joanne Kelly Jacques Drapeau
Third Movement	Dwight Shelton		
	Dougal Clark Jacques Drapeau Jean-Hughes Rochette Joseph Teague	Glen Curtis Andrew Rist David Smith	
Fourth Movement	Annette av Paul	Dwight Shelton	
Fifth Movement	John Stanzel	Cheryl Gomes	Joanne Kelly
	Noreen Buller Jocelyn Labsan Maja Olson	Michelle Haugen Mara Michelle Mo Elizabeth Peltz	eGlothin

Sixth Movement

Full Company

^{**} Costumes courtesy of Les Grands Ballets Canadiens

THE COMPANY

Annette av Paul* Wendy Barnett Noreen Buller April Chow Dougal Clark Glen Curtis Jacques Drapeau** Michael Fritzke Peter George** Cheryl Gomes Michelle Haugen Verina Hayes Ann Hilderbrand Natasha Hosein Joanne Kelly Jocelyn Labsan Sonia Lismer Mara Michelle McGlothin Maja Olson Elizabeth Peltz Joanne Pettman Neil Prokop Andrew Rist Jean-Hughes Rochette** Dwight Shelton* David Smith John Stanzel* Thomas Stout III Joseph Teague Cynthia Varney Catherine Wagner Karen Zissoff

Montreal, Quebec Toronto, Ontario Toronto, Ontario Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan Winnipeg, Manitoba Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Quebec City, Quebec Anoka, Minnesota Montreal, Quebec Minneapolis, Minnesota Winona, Minnesota Calgary, Alberta Calgary, Alberta Trinidad, West Indies Upper Hut, New Zealand Saginaw, Michigan Winnipeg, Manitoba N. Little Rock, Arkansas Burnaby, B.C. Champaign, Illinois Kelowna, B.C. Edmonton, Alberta Minneapolis, Minnesota Ste-Foy, Quebec Montreal, Quebec Montreal, Quebec Montreal, Quebec Minneapolis, Minnesota Minneapolis, Minnesota Vancouver, B.C. Calgary, Alberta Toronto, Ontario

** By permission of the Union Des Artistes

^{*} By permission of the Canadian Actors' Equity Association

Production Staff

Technical Director
Stage Manager
Assistant Stage Managers
Costume Supervisor
Costume Assistant
Head of Properties
Make-Up Supervisor
Make-Up Assistant
Sound Supervisor
Sound
Supervisor of Electrics
Head of Electrics
Electrics Crew

Crew Chief Stage Crew Flyman

Acknowledgements:

David Hignell Brenda Roy Monte Douglas, Marianne Mendzat Enid Larson Vivian Moreland Dale Ann Connery Gail Myrick Mary Jo Pollak Eric Richer John Avery Adrian Heaps Jody Low Joanne Beaulieu, Brian Miller Megan Ross, J.Godfrey Spragge Aime Vincent David G.G. Laing Rhona Fraser, Rick Rinder John Rutledge

Jason Ross Sebastian LeFevre